May the Fourth Be With You – Darth Jäger

A type of Jäger Bomb made with cider that's definitely on the Dark Side

A type of Jäger Bomb made with cider that’s definitely on the Dark Side.

It’s Star Wars day!! So to all of my readers, May the fourth be with you!  In honour of this day, I found this little nugget in Diffordsguide.  It’s got a great name and if you use your imagination, it looks like Darth Vader himself is looking out at you.  I will say, it would probably looked better had I used an flat glass rather than a ribbed one as you can see.

It’s simple enough to make.  Any tumbler, preferably an Old Fashioned, a single measure shot glass, cider and Jägermeister.  Pour your Jägermeister into the shot glass, upend into the tumbler and slowly pour in the cider.  Simple!  Just make sure you use a glass shot and not a plastic one like I did (all my shot glasses are double measures and the wrong shape), and if you’re looking for the full Darth Vader effect, use a plain glass unlike me.  Also, you’d be much better off if you used a flat cider.  Unfortunately, I picked up a sparkling cider as I wasn’t really paying attention..

So what does it taste like?  This is a Sith drink if ever there was one; a true drink from the dark side.  I’m not much of a cider man; I definitely prefer sweeter ciders, so that may have influenced me a little.  Jägermeister I don’t have a problem with at all!  The two together should not be mixed – apples and Jägermeister is one combination too far.  But it is a rather potent drink which is why I’ve marked it under student drinks – they tend not to care about the taste.

All in all, a potent drink, certainly not made to impress the palate, but visually, could be pulled off with the correct glass and cider.  I’d avoid it personally because of the taste, but each to their own.  Give it a whirl and see what you think!

Leave a comment