Cinco de Mayo – Tequila, tequila and tequila!

Cinco de Mayo is not a holiday even remotely acknowledged here in the UK.  However, with the internet and the fact I look for any excuse to make a drink, I figured I would celebrate it with two tequila based cocktails.

A classic summer cocktail comprising of tequila, triple sec, lime juice and agave syrup.  Seen here in a martini glass and on the rocks, both with a salt rim.

A classic summer cocktail comprising of tequila, triple sec, lime juice and agave syrup. Seen here in a martini glass and on the rocks, both with a salt rim.

This is a summer classic and a worldwide favourite, not to mention one of my personal favourites.  It could rival a Vesper for the classic question “if you had to have one cocktail for the rest of your life, what would it be?”

As you can see from the picture, there is two main ways it can be served.  On a hot summers day, you cannot beat it on the rocks.  However, I’m quite partial to it being served in a Margarita glass – granted it’s in a martini glass above, but I have to make do with the tools I have, so no judging.

Simply made by shaking two measures of tequila. one of triple sec (I’ve substituted Cointreau) and a spoon of agave syrup, strain and serve with a lime wedge!  The salt rim is optional as some people may prefer a sugar rim, or no garnish at all.  I love the salt rim.  There is even a version where Marmite is used on the rim (because it is slightly salty), but that is a disgusting suggestion and should never be spoken of again.

The margarita is one of those cocktails where many people have claimed to have invented it all around the same time.  So many so that I would spend a lot of time writing them all for you to look at.  However, recently an English drink was uncovered called the Picador which has the exact same measurements of the Margarita without the salt rim.  It actually came about roughly sixteen years before any written reference to a margarita.  Does this mean that someone ripped off the recipe?  Possibly, but no-one will ever know.

Irrespective of that, it is a cracking cocktail with a wonderful tangy, citrus flavour combined with the earthiness of the tequila.  Such a great drink for a summers day and a fine use of tequila.  If you’ve never had a margarita (I find that nigh on impossible to believe), rectify that immediately.  Make a pitcher, invite a few friends over and have a barbecue!

A tequila take on the classic dry martini.

A tequila take on the classic dry martini.

Next up we have the Tequilatini.  A play on words and a take on the dry martini.  So simple, so tasty and oh so very effective.

Two measures of tequila, one of dry vermouth and half a measure of sugar syrup and three dashes of Angostura bitters, serve and garnish with a lime twist.  However, I’ve had to change the recipe as I managed to leave my bottle of bitters in Portsmouth, so out went the bitters.  Shake it all up and strain into a chilled martini glass.

The tequila and vermouth combine very well and the sugar syrup stops the drink from becoming too dry and harsh on the palate.  I think my homemade sugar syrup is slightly too sweet, but it doesn’t affect the drink too much.  After all, it doesn’t stop this becoming a very potent drink.  If you like strong drinks and strong flavours (especially tequila), or if you just feel like making a change to your usual dry martini, this is a drink for you.

Just for clarity, I know there are two cocktails in each picture, rest assured I had a friend over so they weren’t all for me!

Leave a comment